Nigeria plans reciprocal flights ban on four countries over Omicron

Through Felix Onuah

ABUJA – Nigeria plans to prohibit flights from Argentina, Britain, Canada and Saudi Arabia from this week in retaliation for being delivered to these nations’ crimson lists over the detection of the Omicron coronavirus variant closing month, the aviation minister stated.

Several nations have restricted the movement of people from some African nations because the Omicron variant was first detected in southern Africa and Hong Kong. It has on the grounds that spread to at least FIFTY SEVEN international locations.

In recorded comments shared with newshounds on Sunday, Nigeria’s aviation minister Hadi Sirika stated he had beneficial that the 4 countries need to be placed on a COVID-19 “red list,” which might entail a ban on flights.

“we’ve got given our enter as aviation that it is now not acceptable through us and we advise that the ones countries, Canada, UK, Saudi Arabia and Argentina be additionally placed on pink checklist, just like they did in a similar way to us,” Sirika stated.

“So, I Am very positive among now and Monday or maybe Tuesday maximum, all the ones countries will be put on the crimson record. when they are on the purple listing, which means they’re banned, their airlines will even be banned.”

Britain used to be the first u . s . to announce a travel “crimson list”, which Nigeria has described as unjust and unfair.

The Arena Well Being Group has said nations must practice an “proof-knowledgeable and chance-primarily based method” when deciding on shuttle measures related to Omicron, together with conceivable screening or quarantine of global passengers, including that blanket bans do not prevent its unfold.

Leave a comment